From A Distance (Face To Face)

They say distance makes the heart grow fonder. I believe the heart starts to grow weary if the distance becomes any longer. All I can do now is stare from a distance. My fear of getting caught looking gets to me, but there’s still not enough resistance. Those features I adore are far away from me. And I’ve been desperately wanting to stare at them lately. Man maybe, ahhh I don’t know if I should do so. I need to let my fingers slip, I need to let go. But why let go of something that feels so good to hold on to? The feeling that comes along with it is never similar…it always feels like it’s brand new. Ha man, if she only knew what I knew. I know the truth and the truth is that SHE is the truth…haha, yes you. But all I can do is feel the presence of the truth from afar. The distance feels so far that, for all I know, she could be shining amongst the stars. My new found addiction, my inspiration. Same last name, but we are of no relation. Why do you stand over there? Why do I walk away from you as if I don’t care? Why do I treat you as if you’re a different person? I blame it on the controlling of the feelings that I’m learning. My heart sinks to my stomach when I hear your name. Hearing your voice, seeing you walk by, it all does the same. So why am I adoring you from a distance? Maybe you’re still speaking and all I’m doing is listening. Your scalp I want to massage with the feeling of your curls all over my hand. But your wish is my command. Talk…I’ll continue to listen. I’ll adore…simply from a distance.

The daily urges to have you in my presence. Valentines Day is approaching and that would be the perfect present. And it doesn’t have to do anything with the holiday. You in my presence will simply make my day. Room filled with conversation. The occasional laughter, smiles, healthy debating. Talk about my poetry. Tell me how much you like it cause you know how much it means to me. Talk about traveling the world. Did you know that I hope to do so with my special girl? How’s your father, how’s your mother? You show me messages from her saying she loves you and you responding back saying you love her. Hmmm, I missed hearing about all that’s going on in your life and every day asking about your day. Seeing or speaking to you regularly lately is unheard of, and it shouldn’t be that way. Goodnights every night, sweet dreams to whomever says it first. You say goodnight, I say sweet dreams, or it could be reversed. No longer at a distance, close like we should be. Everything that I love about you are things that should be close to me so I’m able to see. My vision isn’t the best, but you make me see clearly. Know that I’ll never kick you out or push you away even though I look forward to that final embrace. Distance makes the heart grow fonder, but my heart is happiest when we’re face to face.

Leave a comment